Wind Ensemble

Youth Wind Ensemble of Springfield (YWES) brings together the most outstanding wind, brass and
percussion students from communities and schools in the greater Springfield area to create a premier honors ensemble.
YWES is open to students in grades 8-12 and uses standard wind ensemble instrumentation. Our goal is to provide
students with an aesthetic, artistic experience to supplement their school band experience. Students are exposed to
challenging repertoire that meet the needs of musicians who aspire to advance their musical skills. The group showcases
its hard work in a series of concerts throughout the year. The focus of YWES is on developing high level musical
leadership skills and artistry that students can bring back to their respective school programs and ensembles. Through
this purpose, students in YWES give back to their own school ensembles while growing their own individual musicianship.

We are seeking motivated, talented students to join YWES in its musical journey. Music educators are encouraged to
recommend their top tier players for this honors group. Don’t miss this opportunity! Encourage your students to
sign up as early as possible

Grades 8-12
Saturdays 10:00AM to 12:00pm
Chris Moehringer, Conductor and Music Director
$300 for full year; free if student is enrolled in lessons at CMSS.
To determine eligibility please fill out registration form.
Please have your music teacher fill out a recommendation form as well.

Contact Brooke Hopkins, Director of Enrollment and Family Engagement
413-732-8428 ext. 104

About the Director:

Chris Moehringer, conductor, trombone, is a graduate from the University of Massachusetts Amherst with degrees in Music
Education and Trombone performance. As a conductor and performer, Chris has worked with many groups around the Pioneer
Valley including the Valley Winds, Florence Community Band, Amherst College Orchestra and Mount Holyoke Jazz Ensemble.
Chris maintains an active chamber music schedule playing with groups of all genres. He is currently a band director at
the High School of Science and Technology in Springfield.